To sign up for the Do Not Knock Registry, visit DoNotKnock.HilliardOhio.gov and click on the tab or button that says "Join the Do Not Knock Registry." This will take you to a form on which you can register your address. If you are having problems filling out the form on the website, please call 614.876.2429 and someone will assist you.
As long as the City does not receive a notice of removal or learns that you no longer own or occupy that registered address, the address will remain on the Registry until December 31st of the fifth full calendar year from the date you registered your address. (Example: If you registered your address on October 1, 2015, it will remain on the Registry until December 31, 2020, at which time it will automatically be removed. If you desire your address to remain on the Registry beyond the full fifth year, you must re-register.)
Only the current occupant of the property (as owner or tenant) can submit the address for placement on the Registry.
After registering, your address will be placed on the Registry indicating that canvassers, peddlers, and solicitors are not invited onto your property. You also will receive a letter in the mail from the City confirming that your address is on the Registry. The letter also will contain a sticker which must be placed on or near your front door or window so that it is clearly visible to someone approaching your property. If you receive a confirmation letter in error, please notify the Hilliard Division of Police by calling 614.876.2429.
A canvasser is a person that desires to verbally share information with the occupant about a particular idea, belief, issue or cause. A peddler is a person selling items door to door or that desires to obtain orders to buy items or services for delivery of the item or performance of the service at a later time. A solicitor is a person seeking funds or donations from the occupant.
Yes, the Registry applies to youth that go door to door raising funds for schools or organizations, whether that be in the form of donations (as a solicitor) or by selling items (as a peddler).
Go to the Hilliard Division of Police, 5171 Northwest Parkway, Hilliard, Ohio, and complete a form. You must also present an ID which shows that you are the current occupant (as owner or tenant) of the property.
Placing a sticker on or near your front door or window is required by code and will lead to better compliance from those conducting door to door activity due to the sticker's visibility. Without the sticker placed on your front door or window, the City is without the ability to enforce violations of the Registry in those instances where a canvasser, solicitor or peddler knocks on a door.
On or near your front door or front window so that it is visible to a passerby on the sidewalk or is visible to someone approaching your residence or business.
To report the incident, contact the Hilliard Division of Police's non-emergency phone number at 614.876.7321. Do not call 911 as a violation of the Registry is not an emergency requiring immediate police response.
For a first-time offender, the individual is guilty of a 4th degree misdemeanor, which carries a fine up to $250.00 and/or up to 30 days in jail. If the individual is convicted of violating the Registry more than once, that person is guilty of a 1st degree misdemeanor, which carries a fine up to $1,000.00 and/or up to180 days in jail.
Yes, you can invite any canvasser, peddler, or solicitor onto your property that you desire.
Yes. The Registry contemplates someone knocking on your door or ringing your doorbell in an effort to verbally communicate with the occupant regarding their canvassing, peddling or soliciting activity. If the person simply leaves material and in no manner attempts to verbally speak with you, doing so is not a violation of the Do Not Knock Registry.
The Registry is available online at DoNotKnock.HilliardOhio.gov and a copy can be obtained from the Hilliard Division of Police, 5171 Northwest Parkway, Hilliard, Ohio.
No, only the addresses of residents that live within the City of Hilliard corporate boundaries or whose business is located within the City of Hilliard corporate boundaries can be listed on the Registry.
Yes, if the sign is conspicuously visible to someone passing by or entering onto your property, violators can be cited. Coming onto the property of another when a sign indicates that they are not invited to canvass, peddle or solicit on your property, or that uninvited individuals are trespassing, is a violation of Section 745.11 of the City's Codified Ordinances. To report this type of violation, contact the Hilliard Division of Police's non-emergency number at 614.876.7321. Please verify that your home or business is located within the corporate boundaries of Hilliard prior to calling.